powered by the Iowa City Press-Citizen & The Des Moines Register
Subscribe via RSS Feed

Iowa wrestling announces 2013-14 schedule

[ 0 ] August 5, 2013 |

FROM UI SPORTS INFORMATION:

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa wrestling program released its 2013-14 schedule Monday, and the calendar includes seven home dates and a return to the Ken Kraft Midlands Championships.

Iowa, the national attendance leader each of the last seven seasons, opens the home schedule on Mediacom Mat at Carver-Hawkeye Arena on Nov. 22, hosting Baker University, Cornell College, and Iowa Central in the Iowa City Duals.

Nonconference foes Buffalo (Dec. 12) and Oklahoma State (Jan. 10), and Big Ten opponents Michigan State (Jan. 5), Indiana (Jan. 12), Minnesota (Jan. 26), and Michigan (Feb. 9) are also on the home schedule.

Iowa’s road schedule includes a pair of visits to Evanston, Ill. The Hawkeyes will aim for their record 23rd Midlands Championship at Welsh Ryan Arena on Dec. 29-30, before returning to Northwestern on Jan. 31 to face the Wildcats in one of four conference road duals. The Big Ten schedule also includes duals at Purdue (Jan. 3), Nebraska (Jan. 17), and Wisconsin (Feb. 23).

The Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series continues Dec. 1 in Ames, Iowa. The Hawkeyes have won all nine meetings against the Cyclones since the Cy-Hawk Series’ inception in 2004-05.

The nonconference schedule also include duals at Edinboro (Dec. 5) and Lehigh (Feb. 14).

Wisconsin hosts the Big Ten Championships on March 8-9, and the NCAA Championships will be contested March 20-22 in Oklahoma City.

The Hawkeyes open the season Nov. 15 at a tournament yet to be determined.

All start times for the 2013-14 season will be announced at a later date.

==================

2013-14 Wrestling Schedule

Nov. 15-17 (Saturday) at Away Tournament TBD

Nov. 22 (Friday) Iowa City Duals

Dec. 1 (Sunday) at Iowa State

Dec. 5 (Thursday) at Edinboro

Dec. 12 (Thursday) Buffalo

Dec. 29 (Sunday) at Midlands Evanston, Ill.

Dec. 30 (Monday) at Midlands

Jan. 3 (Friday) at Purdue

Jan. 5 (Sunday) Michigan State

Jan. 10 (Friday) Oklahoma State

Jan. 12 (Sunday) Indiana

Jan. 17 (Friday) at Nebraska

Jan. 26 (Sunday) Minnesota

Jan. 31 (Friday) at Northwestern

Feb. 9 (Sunday) Michigan

Feb. 14 (Friday) at Lehigh

Feb. 23 (Sunday) at Wisconsin.

Mar. 8-9 (Saturday) at Big Ten Championships at Madison, Wis.

Mar. 20-22 at NCAA Championships Oklahoma City, Okla.

 

Tags: ,

Category: Wrestling

About Hawk Central: Hawk Central is a joint operation of the Iowa City Press-Citizen and The Des Moines Register, with offices in Iowa City. Contact us at online@press-citizen.com. View author profile.

Comments closed