powered by the Iowa City Press-Citizen & The Des Moines Register
Subscribe via RSS Feed

Iowa team award-winners announced at banquet

[ 0 ] December 8, 2013 |

Senior linebacker Anthony Hitchens and junior offensive lineman Brandon Scherff were named the Roy J. Carver most valuable players for the Iowa football team.

Five team captains for the 2013 season were announced at the Hawkeyes’ awards banquet Sunday: senior offensive lineman Brett Van Sloten, junior running back Mark Weisman, senior linebackers Christian Kirksey and James Morris and deep snapper Casey Kreiter.

Scherff (left tackle) and Van Sloten (right tackle) each started all 12 games. The Hawkeye offense averaged 188.6 rushing yards per game and the offensive line allowed just 12 sacks.

Hitchens led the Hawkeyes in tackles (102) for the second consecutive season. Morris (99) was second in tackles while leading the team in tackles for loss, sacks and interceptions.

Weisman led Iowa’s offense in rushing attempts (209), yards (938) and touchdowns (seven). Kreiter handled all snaps for punts, field goals and extra points for three seasons.

The Hayden Fry “Extra Heartbeat” Award was presented to five Hawkeyes, including Van Sloten (offense), Hitchens, Kirksey, Morris (defense) and Kreiter (special teams). The Extra Heartbeat award goes to players who have shown outstanding leadership and dedication throughout the year, along with demonstrating exemplary leadership.

Morris also earned the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award, which is presented to a senior student-athlete who has the highest scholastic record.

Van Sloten and Morris shared the Players’ Choice Award.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Iowa Hawkeyes Football

About Hawk Central: Hawk Central is a joint operation of the Iowa City Press-Citizen and The Des Moines Register, with offices in Iowa City. Contact us at online@press-citizen.com. View author profile.

Comments closed